Easing back in

Standard

I’m back from my extended stay in the US, and the new apartment is organized and looking fine. The only other things I need to do are start blogging, go back to work,and resume my Chinese lessons.  I start both work and lessons tomorrow so I decided to check all three boxes.

Because it’s been so long since I’ve written anything and I barely recognize the new and improved WordPress web-site, I think it’s best to start off nice and easy.

Bear attack 001

I came across this photo in the China Daily a few months ago and couldn’t stop laughing. Every time I look at it it makes me laugh. I find it highly amusing that the zoo authorities felt the need to have someone don a bear costume to add authenticity to the attack. What kind of bear is that anyway? How authentic is it when the bear is wearing a red hat? Do all bears in Chinese zoos wear red hats? How seriously injured is the victim? Do you think the man playing the victim knows it’s only a man in a costume or do you think he’s really scared? What the heck is the uniformed man in the middle holding: a clarinet, a bamboo stick, or a pirate telescope? Come on, a hose? A hose?! Where’s the dart gun? And if you’re going to use a hose at least spray the bear.  The bear clearly holds all the power in this photo. Why is the victim wearing a helmet when it’s a pretend bear? I watched a man climb into the cabin of a construction crane that is 200 feet above  ground without the aid of a safety harness and this guy needs a helmet? Will the zoo euthanize the bear because it attacked a human? Or is this an attempted case of cannibalism because the “bear” is really a human?

Hey Uncle N. in Virginia, I hope this makes you laugh and that you’re feeling 100%.

6PM – 95 °

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

3 responses »

    • So am I Kim, so am I. It’ll be over before I know it and need to have this blog to remind of all the amazing things I’ve been able to see and do. THanks for not giving up on me.

Leave a Reply

