Hauling concrete

Standard

This is hauling concrete Chinese style. I watched the whole thing go down from the comfort of my air-conditioned apartment. My cushy American butt may be  is feeling a little guilty.

These men are working on the 6th and 7th floor. Some of them are bare-footed and most are shirtless, it is 91 degrees with a heat index of 98 and it’s only 11 AM.  They have been jack-hammering and sledge hammering the floors in the apartment across from us and above us for the past several days.  They put the concrete debris in bags which actually look like potato sacks. One man fashioned steps out of the filled sacks, a few bricks, and a board. Then they started hauling it down the steps, yes 6 and 7 flights of steps. These poor guys are hoofing it all the way. I can only imagine what they are getting paid and it’s probably no more than the equivalent of a few dollars a day, if that.

So when I leave my apartment at lunch time or mid-afternoon, they are  sacked out on the jack-hammered, sledge hammered, hard, concrete floor in the apartment or on the stair landing (I guess they catch a bit of a breeze?) There is no way my conscience would allow me to step foot on the elevator  so I step over them to use the stairs and they never wake up.

This my friends is why China is a nation of thin people and we’re not!

6PM – 100 degrees

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

One response »

  1. Makes one re-evaluate you own life. Love the posts! Glad to see Lily doing so well. We finally got some much need rain last night. Started school shopping for Lily. Leave it to you guys to find a German Beer-Garden in China. Yeah, I know it’s not spelled properly. Ben does sound wondeful. Love from all to all.

Leave a Reply

