Ben is a ba (dad)

Standard

Last night on August 16, this morning for you, Ben became a dad. And like dads anywhere in the world, he’s very happy and proud.

 He drove me to the medical clinic yesterday and while I was in there for 1 1/2 hours he was on the phone with his wife who had gone into labor. He was probably wondering what the heck was taking so long and why did the American get sick so soon after arriving in China anyway.  Oh no, Ben was working to find a replacement driver for us because we had dinner plans – Hello T.

Ben was on the phone when I finally got out of the clinic and he stopped to ask how I was feeling and if I was OK. Not “Hurry up,  my wife is in labor,” or ” Quick I have to drive to the hospital,” or “What took you so darn long I need to make tracks.” It was, “Everything OK, you feel better?” As it turns out he was on the phone with D, Anders’ admin. They were trying to find a driver. He handed the phone to me because D was worried about me as well. It was nice to know that they were concerned.

Evidently all afternoon Ben was tracking down a driver, which he did, and as it turns out he’s a very good friend of Ben’s. Do you know how difficult it is for me to sit in a car with another human being and not be able to talk? I can’t do it. But E  had pretty good English skills and was very nice.

After a delicious dinner at a Turkish restaurant, I knew that T would appreciate a break from Chinese fare, we were on our way back to our “bubble”. On the way, Anders got a text saying that Ben couldn’t find a driver to take him to work so he was going to do it. The dedication of these people is amazing and humbling. They don’t get paid much AT ALL yet they give 110%.  Around 10 Ben called us  to tell share the news that he had a daughter. He was giddy on the phone. I can’t tell you how good it makes us feel to know that the driver we have only known for 2 weeks was compelled to share his announcement with us.

Yep, at 8 this morning Ben was outside the apartment waiting to take Anders to work. I went down with him to offer my congratulations in person and the real reason was to see a picture of the little one and she ain’t that little. Of course she has a ton of black hair and was all swaddled up and just looked adorable. When I commented on her hair he  told us that one of her fingernails was very long. I’m sure that means good fortune or something grand in the Chinese culture. He told us her name but I have no idea whatsoever how to spell it but it sounded like “sing.” Ben said it’s a feeling (one of his favorite expressions) of being very, very happy.

Yeah, he’s a proud ba.

PS – and only because I know that S will want to know, I had a UTI. Nothing serious but I knew I needed an antibiotic so that’s the only reason I went to the doctor. Anders and the kids know that I only go to the doctor when I have no other choice and the fact that I’ve only been here 2 weeks just galls me.

9AM – 88 degrees UGH!

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

4 responses »

  1. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!! I was having a nervous breakdown realizing you were at a medical clinic!!!!!! You can’t imagine my relief when you gave a shout out to S (I”m Sue, Karen’s friend from Dallas, going by the alias, Micherry on the blog- Tammy) You get UTI”s?! You poor, poor, poor thing. You must not be drinking and peeing enough. I get them pretty often, once or twice a year and can totally sympathize with you! I carry a prescription of Bactrim around in my purse with me at all times- that’s how afraid I am of getting one. I find when I’m away, I don’t drink as much because I’m busy and don’t want to have to use the bathroom. Without fail, if I don’t pee every few hours I end up with one. Are you prone to them also? I bet you were at the electronics market for the day, perspiring, not drinking as you should and not having to use the bathroom. That’s my theory. Speaking of bathrooms- what does yours look like?
    Congratulations to Ben!!!! I’m sure she is the cutest!!!!!

  2. Can we have a cheat sheet with who all the Initials are? I get D=Admin, B=Diver. Who is T and S? Or is it not my business? Congrats to Ben! Hope you feel better.

    • I decided that not everyone would want their names out there in cyberspace, especially since we are living in a communist country. Not that it isn’t any of your business SG it’s just that I’m trying to be considerate of others. I doubt that most of them would mind but better safe than sorry. So other than Ben, it’s a very common name here, I decided I would use initials for everyone else. D is indeed Anders’ admin but the others are friends’ initials.

      I feel fine, I had my horsepill antibiotic yesterday and am working on getting enough food in my stomach so I can take today’s dose. Keep me posted on “anything” that might be going on in your life. OMG, I just thought we should be face dialing, we both have iPhones. And What’s App. it allows us to text internationally with no charge!

Leave a Reply

