Mani/pedi

Standard

If you don’t know what a mani/pedi is don’t read this post. You’ll only embarrass yourself when you ask someone what it is. Men, this means you. I know it’s sexist but that’s just the way of the world sometimes.

I have gotten 2 mani/pedis at the salon at our apartment complex. I walk 2 minutes and I’m there. It’s not a plush, posh nail salon with brightly painted walls and chandeliers on the ceiling.  There are no vibrating massage chairs with built-in foot baths. I’m definitely not paying for luxury but it’s fine. I don’t need all that anyway, I just sit there reading my Kindle and there’s ample lighting for that.

What you do get is  2 very nice women who work  for 2 hours or more. One woman does my fingernails and the other does my toenails. (She’s the one that worked for 2 hours and 15 minutes yesterday). I can’t help it, I run and she spends more time scraping (scrapping if you read my Massage Options post) than doing anything else.

What I emerge with 2 hours and 15 minutes later is the best manicure and pedicure I’ve ever had. They are so meticulous; no ragged cuticles, bubbly polish, and not a speck of color is on the skin. My feet are smoother than they have ever been. I daresay that my feet look pretty after I leave the salon (that’s saying something because I have ugly feet).  I was tempted to take and upload a photo of my pedicure but some of you may be eating breakfast and I don’t want to be held accountable for what might transpire as you gaze upon my feet.  My cuticles were still in good shape 2 weeks after my first mani/pedi. Without my own top coat to reapply every few days, the fingernail polish lasted 7 days. Dare to dream how much wear time I’ll get when my sea shipment arrives and I have that again!

Now for the punch line.

It costs $24 and no tipping. Yes, 2 people, 2 hours (or more), $24 dollars. It’s not my intent to make anyone jealous but…

6PM – 97 degrees

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

4 responses »

  1. If you promise we can have chicken beaks and feet for dinner, I’m there!!!!!! Actually, between shopping, pedicures, and McDonald’s I’d be living my ideal life. However, you should be prepared to be thrown out of the country after my stay, because you know I’d end up offending someone with my mouth (everything would be unintentional, I just want to help) after needing a meeting with people so I can “fix” some of things…. 🙂

    • Tipping update: A and I were out to lunch yesterday and she commented on how difficult it is not to tip. It led to a conversation and she told me she does tip at the salon here. So that’ll bring the total to $27! I think I can swing it! I think the Chinese would love you.

  2. It is very cheap, so close, and you come out looking better than when you went in?! I’d be there every chance I could. I LOVE pedicures. I bite my finger nails into mere slivers otherwise I’m sure I’d love a manicure also. How hard is it for you not to tip? We have it so ingrained in us to do that. You STILL haven’t gotten your shipment? I thought you timed it to arrive when you did.

    • I keep my nails very short so when you come we can go together 😉 Not tipping is very hard, very hard because as you said it’s ingrained in us. We have a Finnish friend who sent us a link about tipping in China and told us not to ruin the no tipping trend. As far as shipments go, the air shipment was timed to arrive when we did but we knew the sea shipment would take 8-10 weeks just to arrive and then has to clear customs which can take another 1-3 weeks. It has arrived and now must go through customs before we’ll see it. It was packed on June 28 so I’m suffering from withdrawal. Sue, I think you should come for a visit. You are so curious and should experience this first hand. Come on. You can do it and I guarantee it’s worth it just to meet Ben. He won’t disappoint!

Leave a Reply

