River Walk

Standard

As I was taking in the view of the river this morning I noticed some fishing boats. I hadn’t seen any up to this point and was fascinated. There were 3 of them and the last one to arrive was listing and I was worried that if I left to refill my coffee cup I would come back to see only bubbles where it had sunk. They looked like the slightest breeze would knock them over into a pile of floating matchsticks. The motors sounded like they were powering lawn mowers rather than boats on the Pearl River.   I have no idea what they were catching but their nets were coming up with something in them. I got out my camera to take photos and they turned out OK but in the end I decided to get closer to the action.

I donned my Penn State football T-shirt, sweats, and flip-flops and bounded out the complex looking like a good old American gal out for a stroll along the Pearl River in Guangzhou, China. I was the only one… American girl that is. I came across a few people. Some people were resting from bike rides, a family of 3 generations was doing Tai Chi, and a little old woman gave me a warm smile and laugh when I told her ni hao. It was actually quite pleasant outside. There was a very nice breeze blowing. It wasn’t the kind we usually experience where it feels like you’ve just opened your oven door. There was a slight aroma of flowers. I was in a happy place.

I did get some good photos of the boats. I think I need a new camera though with a more powerful zoom. Think I’ll be able to find one here? These photos only look good because I edited them on the blog website. One of the boats was manned by a couple. She was working every bit as hard as he was and they were both working hard. I watched him for a while. He pulled his net up out of the water a bit and grabbed what looked like a straight broom, you know the kind you use to sweep your garage floor. He stuck it in the net and kept working it up and down the insides of the net. Truthfully? He appeared to be cleaning sludge and small debris from the side to enable the water to flow out around the catch. He did that for about 10 minutes before he moved the net onto the boat and the net looked pretty full to me. The river is brown and while there seems to be a bit of garbage along the banks it just looks to be muddy. It’s a tidal river. It flows east to west and vice versa. The depth also drops during the course of the day. I guess that would explain the amount of mud in the net. I don’t know. I only know what I saw.  I couldn’t exactly stop and ask any of my fellow river walkers what was going on.

As it turns out it was a very nice walk and one I’ll do more frequently once the weather cools off a bit, which should be in about a month or so. The lack of humidity and hazy sun was a nice change of pace from the usual. I hope you enjoy the photos.  As you can see it is very tropical here. I just want to give everyone a glimpse of what it’s like outside our apartment. Enjoy, I sure did.

River walk

Looking east along the river

Looking west along the Pearl River

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4PM – 98 degrees
About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

Leave a Reply

