I need binoculars

Standard

Gee I don’t know if I will ever be able to find a pair here in the city of “markets” that sell just about anything you can imagine and some things you didn’t.

I don’t want them to snoop on my neighbors, they’re not doing anything that I can’t see in my own home 😉 But I do want them for people-watching. My loved ones know that it’s one of my favorite things to do and I believe that I’m good at it. Following is a list of things I could see so much better with an aid for my 50-year-old eyes.

Tai chi people in front of the hotel.

There is a group of what I believe to be school girls and Anders thinks are older women doing exercises with big, beautiful, pink fans every morning along the river walk across the way. It’s beautiful and I want to see better. Plus I need to confirm that they are school girls and would therefore be right!

The TV tower. As I explained the other day there is a ride going in at the top of the TV tower. Before it even becomes operational I want to see them work on it. I’m fairly certain that I saw someone up there yesterday walking around. I would have been riveted watching that. Once it starts I want to see the people. Yes, I’m that close that with binoculars I could too. I can see the cars clearly but no details. I need details before I make the decision to do that!

The building down the way. I explained last week about what I believed to be the Presidential motorcade. If I had binoculars I think I could have confirmed that sighting. Yesterday about 25 various army vehicles went down there. Again, I don’t know what they were doing but it was a first to see that many army vehicles.

Hot cars. Every now and then I see some pretty nice cars driving on the road across the river. I mean like an Audi R8. I definitely want to see that up close.

One day last week in front of the hotel there was a very tall person with a crowd of kids (could have been adults, he was that tall) around him. He was wearing shorts and a jersey. It could have been Yao Ming and I wouldn’t have known it.

If  you read yesterday’s post you know that I could have used them to see better what was happening on those rickety boats. I would have a much better understanding and would therefore be able to explain better what they were doing.

I don’t want binoculars to snoop and spy, I just want to understand.

By the way I’m in Hong Kong for the weekend with Anders. We took the train, are staying overnight for some shopping and sight-seeing. It’s an enforced immigration trip. Until things get straightened out, look for a blog next week about that, I have to leave the country, get my visa stamped and come back in. I know, you’re asking how can HK be considered leaving the county. We all watched the  news and read the reports about the transfer of sovereignty from the UK to the People’s Republic of China 14 years ago. Whatever. I just need to leave and return. There are worse places I could have to do this.

I wrote this yesterday and had it wait to be published until today. I’m figuring this out.

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

One response »

  1. Can you give us your daily/weekly routine? Since you don’t have your things yet, I can’t imagine you have anything to clean. Although, I’m sure you already have it penciled in your weekly schedule. Do you go out everyday? Did you ever buy any meat last week? (I think it was last week you were going to splurge) When are you getting your custom made clothing? Please tell me you got a pair of binoculars while in Hong Kong – or is that a project to do with Ben? How many new friends have you made? Who is showing you the ropes? How long can you stay outside without getting heat exhaustion? Are there any malls, like what I’m used to? 🙂 I’ll be done for now.

Leave a Reply

