Veggies

Standard

Talking to my dad last night he asked me where I buy my fruit and vegetables. He obviously hasn’t been keeping up with my blog! I told him that I go to the wet market once a week to load up and spend very little.

So here’s what I do after visiting the market. If you’re squeamish or eating breakfast don’t read the next sentence. Because they use raw sewage for fertilizer produce needs to be washed in detergent made specifically for produce. They sell it in the States as well but I never used it. Never got sick either but I’m not taking the chance here. I have to be careful when I reach under the sink and make sure I don’t pull out the dishwashing detergent.

Washing lettuce not dishes

I load up the sink with water, pour in the detergent and in go the fruit and veg. The first time I did it it seemed strange. It’s a bit odd to see food floating in sudsy water, now it doesn’t make me stop and think I must be loosing my marbles. I swish everything around but I do pay particular attention to the lettuce. I make sure I take it apart and get in the nooks and crannies. It gets rinsed real well and on to the dish rack to dry.

The food pictured cost me about $6 and that doesn’t include the oranges that I bought . They don’t get cleaned because I don’t exactly eat orange rind. Pictured are peppers, carrots, a cucumber, scallions, broccoli, potatoes ( for some reason I didn’t think I’d be able to find them here), tomatoes, and those long green things that look like long green beans are called long beans.  The first time I went to the market I bought them not knowing exactly what they were but was able to look them up and voilà! They are the beans that we love to eat. Haven’t cooked them yet with the chili paste that I bought but I will this weekend. I think a nutritionist would be proud based on the variety of colors.

So pretty!

 

10AM – 86 degrees

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

One response »

  1. I went to Mount Vernon this summer and was surprised to find out the Father of our country also thought using sewage for fertilizer was a good idea for his crops as well. You know me, I just couldn’t let that comment slide without about a thousand follow up questions. At first I was impressed with the adorable outhouse the Washington’s had —- from the outside—- then I when in and I was slightly shocked to see there were three seats, all cute, next to each other, with drawers under each of them. No one could explain the necessity for 3 seats. There were no doors separating them – I have pictures if you need a visual. Did they have “bathroom buddies” ? Really, no one thought of a sign saying “occupied” or maybe just hanging out until the person inside was done? You know how people say that most business deals are made on the golf course? Are you thinking the same thing I am about where his presidential decisions may have been discussed? 🙂
    I was then told about the drawers underneath. It was some poor slave’s job to empty them and use the contents as crop fertilizer. I was so horrified. I barely got anything other than those facts from my visit. Well, that and the fact that the Washington’s NEVER bathed. Found it to be unsanitary. Again, I made an audible gasp over that tidbit of info. George took care of his teeth and spent a ton of money on trying to save them ( I saw one of his toothbrushes) – but never thought a little soap and water on other body parts might be a good idea. K :0

Leave a Reply

