It’s a misnomer!

Standard

At the bottom of all the posts you’ll see that they are filed under a certain category.  All of the possible choices are listed to the right. I categorized this post under “People we can’t live without.” It should read: “We are spoiled rotten and will never want to leave China in three years because we will have to be self-sufficient again, she keeps Anders sane at work and is unbelievably efficient,  he drives us everywhere and helps me with Mandarin and talks to me, and how are we ever going to say goodbye to both of them when the time comes.” The last part bothers me the most. I am of course referring to D (Anders’ admin) and Ben.

The following scenario has happened twice.

I have to return to the US next week to have my visa issues taken care of. D has made all the arrangements for flight, hotel, and company that will do my visa paperwork. She sent all the necessary documents and forms I need to complete  with Ben to give to me when he picked me up for my lesson. Some of the questions are confusing and I asked Anders to call me (he is away) to help me. He said that D was supposed to give me his completed questionnaire to use because he too had difficulty. At 6:40 I sent D an email telling her what I needed and at 7:15 my phone rang. It was Ben. He was in my building. He had the papers that I asked D for. As I went to prop the front door open and was telling him on the phone to just come in, the elevator door opened. There he was with the papers in hand! I never expected D to get them to me tonight, I didn’t even think she’d get my email. But when Ben called me I knew exactly what it was about. That’s how those 2 roll. It is time for me to get out and find myself meaningful volunteer work. I cannot continue to live like this.

The category is a misnomer, there just isn’t enough room to say it all.

3:30 PM – 101°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

3 responses »

  1. I just found your blog a few days ago…via a comment you left on Ree’s blog. I am really enjoying your blog and can’t wait to read more! My parents are from this area so I am curious about it. I visited there almost 25 years ago and judging by your pictures and descriptions the place has changed a lot.

    I’m so glad you included a couple of pictures of yourself…it’s always nice to see who is doing the writing!

    PS Karen, you have a great sense of humor!

    • Hey Laura, so glad you found this AND that you’re enjoying it. Once the weather cools in the next month or so my husband and I will but outside a lot more. I will definitely be including more photos. I have no reference of how GZ looked before but my understanding as you have surmised is that it’s changed by leaps and bounds in the last 2-3 years. GZ hosted the Asian Games 2 years ago and the government poured buckets of money into the city to make improvements. There is a bridge not far from here that I love and it’s only 2 years old. Friends of ours that traveled here in the past for work were preparing my husband for his first trip here 2 years ago. He was expecting the worst and when he arrived he couldn’t understand what they had been talking about. But they too had not been in a few years and were blown away by the progress. It is definitely the very large and very modern. I love it.

      Thanks for the encouragement and keep in touch.

Leave a Reply

