I don’t have clothes for this.

Standard

I’m off to NYC this evening to get my Chinese visa/permit/immigration issues resolved. Let’s just say that the rules have changed and 6 weeks after making the 24 hour trip to GZ, I must now repeat the journey and return to my home country to get my permit. Oh well, at least I’ll get to spend some time with Andrew. Sorry you can’t make it Kiersten and Steven but I understand. You’re adults now with a home, pets, and careers! As the Rugrats would say you have “sponsitilities”.

While I’m looking forward to seeing Andrew and shopping for things I didn’t know I’d need until after I arrived in GZ, I’m not looking forward to the next 24 hours. I thought I’d have 4 months before I had to repeat it. D had a very difficult time making hotel reservations as well. I couldn’t figure out how NYC could be so crowded. Now I know. It’s fashion week. Whoop-dee-doo! UGH is more like it.

I just checked the weather report for the next few days in NYC and it’s supposed to be in the 60’s and 70’s. I’ll freeze! I don’t have clothes for this. The small wardrobe that I have is for temps in the 90’s and 100’s. I didn’t think I’d be needing anything so warm until December when I return for a visit. Little did I know that I’d be turning around and coming back to the States and that it would be unseasonably cool. Ah, but the upside is that I’ll get a small taste of autumn, my favorite season. Guess I’ll bring my running gear and run outside. Nothing like a cool, crisp morning with blue sky (I think I’ll get a glimpse amongst the skyscrapers) to motivate me to go outside and exercise. I keep waiting for it to cool off here before I step foot outside the gym for a run.

After recovering from the trip and jet-lag I will be hitting the stores. I’m not normally a gung-ho clothes shopper but since I’ve been here I’ve lost 11 pounds. While that is great it means that the few articles of clothing that I have don’t fit me anymore. I bought 3 pairs of cargo pants about 1 month before I left the US and they were a tad tight when I arrived. Now I can put them on without unbuttoning or unzipping them. Everything hangs on me and doesn’t look in the least bit attractive. More than likely I will not be receiving my sea shipment until the middle of October, that will make 3 1/2 months that I have not seen most of my household goods. I have plenty of clothes on their way that will fit. I have jeans, pants, skirts, and shirts that were bought when I was either thinner or knew that I just had to lose 3-4 pounds for them to fit. You snicker but we’ve all done it.

I’m still not sure if I’m going to take my laptop with me.  If you don’t hear from me, please come back when I come back on Sept. 20th. I’m only going on another forced trip.

2PM – 102°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

3 responses »

  1. If you would like to do some other visiting, Fiona said she would be more than happy to spend some time in New York for fashion week even if it means picking up the visa for you! 😉

Leave a Reply

