EEADPSGP

Standard

Things are off to a good start – China let me back in. I’m still not entirely legal and I’m not allowed to leave the country until I have my permanent residence permit, and by permanent I mean I have to renew it in a year. That process started this morning  when I had to apply for my temporary residence permit, even though the one I currently have is valid until 9/27.  I should have my permanent one in the next week before the temp. expires but I guess they have to employ the population somehow. That had to be filed within 24 hours upon arrival back in the country. Don’t they know I’m like a baby who has its days and nights mixed up?

I just got back home from having my photo taken AGAIN. I have to have a receipt from the photo shop saying that the photo meets the requirements of the Entry & Exit Administration Department of Public Security of Guangdong Province. This will be my 3rd visit to Fotomax in 7 weeks and by  now I should be greeted with, “Ni hao Mrs. Leidal.” The Chinese government just can’t seem to get enough of:

1.  your photo

2. your passport

Tomorrow I will arrive at the office of the (see full name above because I’m not typing that thing out again) with Nervous K in tow.  You may remember him as he’s the man who steered us through the medical exams. I am preparing myself mentally for the frantic process, frantic only because K will make it that way. I’m not sure that being jet-lagged for this portion of the legalization process is a good idea. I may not move fast enough for K and that may compound his nervousness.  I’ll be tired when I’m done, even if all I do is sit on a plastic children’s stool (fingers crossed) because watching K dart about is exhausting.

The medical exam will be coming full circle tomorrow as I have to hand over the results. They are in a sealed envelope and must stay that way. The envelope  magically appeared along with a list from D of what I need to bring tomorrow. I have no idea who has had this since May, could be Ernst and Young, the official accountants for the Oscars for all I know. Now that I think about it, I’m very curious. Just who all has seen my medical report before it was sealed? Probably the same people who have seen my photo and my passport and that number could be in the hundreds at this point. One of the reasons that we’re hurrying to get this whole thing taken care of is that the medical exam results are about to expire and I would have to repeat the exam, as entertaining as it was I don’t think I want to go through that again.

As of tomorrow I will again be without my passport. They will keep it for the duration of the process, which should take about a week. I have to have it back so that I can leave for our vacation next Friday. It’s cutting it close! I’m fairly certain that in the 6 weeks that I’ve been here and the 1 week that I was in NYC, my passport has been “out” more than it’s been “in.” I gave it up 2 hours after I arrived in NY for 3 days. I don’t have it now. I had to relinquish it this morning so the apartment complex could have the police station issue my new and improved temporary residence permit and now it’s off to D so she can…you guessed it…photo copy it for tomorrow. The bureau is going to have the real deal in their hands yet they need a copy of it !?!? 

ID theft must not be a problem in China!

1PM – 88°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

4 responses »

  1. I love reading your blog! You really should consider writing a book on your experiences in China! As always it is entertaining to read and we learn from it as well! A laugh and learn blog! I hope you enjoy writing as much as we all enjoy reading it! Take care

    • Lori!!! Thank you so much and yes I do enjoy writing it. I missed it while I was away last week. I never thought I would get as much enjoyment out of it as I do but I really look forward to sitting down every day to write. It keeps me on my toes because I don’t want to miss a moment of this experience. It is going to end way too fast. To be honest, there is always something to write about. It’s so different how could there not be? Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

