Drivers are teachers too.

Standard

Sorry that no blog was posted yesterday. I had a BAD case of “I ate something that didn’t like me!” I felt so awful that the banging that they’re doing in the upstairs apartment to tear up the concrete floor didn’t faze me. Today it most definitely is.

This will also be the last post for 10 days because tomorrow Anders and I are off to Bali to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Our anniversary was in May but someone was in GZ on the actual day so someone needed to plan something special and someone did! 9 days and 8 nights at a resort on the very southern tip of the island and we’ll be staying in the honeymoon villa! Yeah, someone did it right.  I’ll be taking lots of photos and I’m sure I’ll have plenty to write about when I return. My passport arrived right on schedule yesterday so I’m now legal for 1 year AND able to leave the country!

I actually managed to have 2 Mandarin lessons this week. It was a close call this morning as I didn’t think I was going to make it but after Anders fixed me tea and toast I felt much better. My teacher has learned that I’m interested in Chinese characters and while she can’t teach them as part of this class she does throw in one or two per lesson. I will definitely be  taking a class in the next year or so. They are fascinating and so meaningful. She also taught me a curse word. I said darn at one point and her eyes lit up and she asked me if I wanted to learn one in Mandarin. Again, I’m fairly certain that it’s not part of the Berlitz curriculum. She was cute about it and got her point across without being crude.

 This then led to a very interesting conversation with Ben. Now he gave me a lesson in cursing.  All the way home. I started by showing him what E had taught me and he kind of laughed because as it turns out what I learned from E was not so bad. He told me he couldn’t imagine me having a need to say it so he taught me a few things I could use. It was hilarious. I do not have a foul mouth, I occasionally curse but it’s mild stuff for the most part. But we were both dropping the f word like it was part of our normal daily language. I have never heard him say anything, even when people do really stupid things while he’s driving he never even beeps his horn! But I learned a few words today that I can’t repeat. Not that I’m demure or anything but I just can’t remember what he taught me. 😉  I do remember one because  he had me write it down. He said it’s not that bad and I wouldn’t shock anyone if it came out of my mouth.  I told him that I couldn’t believe that we were talking about this.  It was a very surreal conversation and we were both laughing the whole time.

Drivers, they aren’t just for driving!

5PM – 79° (remnants of Typhoon Nesat)

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

