Random Thoughts

Standard

RT #1 – Hunky Army guys that run along the river at 6AM need to be quiet. The weather has been so nice that we’ve  turned off the A/C and have been sleeping with the windows open. Because noise carries better across water I can hear them even though they’re on the other side of the river.

RT #2 – Some day I’m going to walk to the other side of the river, pretend I’m a tourist out for an early morning stroll, and gawk at Hunky Army guys as they run by. I need a confirmation that they are worthy of the title and nothing less than a personal inspection will do.

RT #3  – The pace of  learning in my Mandarin class has grown disproportionately in relation to the amount I am actually capable of learning.

RT #4 – Anders, D, AND Ben gave me flowers for my birthday last week. I love you Anders but the fact that your secretary and our driver gave me flowers touched me a bit more. I could not believe it. I have a magnet on our refrigerator that says, “We just might be the luckiest people alive.”  I can say that we ARE the luckiest people alive and for more reasons than this RT.

Concrete debris from the apartment above me

RT #5 – When will they be done with the construction upstairs, across the hall, and now outside the front of our building? The noise level has gotten to be unbearable. That’s saying something  because I can tune out a lot, just ask Anders, Kiersten, and Andrew 😉 To save my sanity yesterday I sat outside on our terrace where it was only slightly quieter than inside and read an entire book. I can’t tell you the last time I did that. They are tearing up the floors that unfortunately are made of concrete. It evidently requires both jack-hammering and sledge-hammering. Yesterday to add to the noise-level  the apartment complex decided to replace all of the decorative details on the outside of the building which requires a reciprocating saw to cut the bolts that are holding them in place. Honestly? As if there wasn’t enough noise.

RT #6 – I had to stay home yesterday because Anders needed the car to go to the P&G plant that is about 1 hour outside GZ. On Tuesday I told Ben that I was thinking about having him pick me up on Wednesday so I could go to 2 grocery stores and the wet market. It would have required 4 hours of driving for Ben to take me for 1 1/2 hours of shopping. I was a big girl, changed my plans, and read an entire book while sitting on my terrace. (see RT above)

RT #7 – A coffee table in China is called … a tea table. Well of course it is.  I was telling Ben that we needed to buy a new one and we thought that we’d look for one here. I didn’t use the word coffee table, I did the circling thing to explain it and he said, “You mean a coffee table?” I felt sheepish. Then he said, “You know what we call a coffee table in China? A tea table.” Well of course you do! We had a chuckle over that.

RT #8 – It’s OK to trim your fingernails while on a train in China. I thought you needed to know that just in case you’re on a train in China, need to trim your nails, and have a nail trimmer in your pocket. Don’t bother trying to contain those trimmings either,  just let them fly! I know this from personal experience and giggled the whole time it was happening across the aisle and one row behind me.

RT #9 – My handwriting is so bad that a Chinese man at immigration control in the GZ airport corrected my departure form! While I’m embarrassed to write that I find it ironic that a man whose first “written language” isn’t even the Roman alphabet had to make corrections. Guess I’ll never conquer Chinese characters!

RT #10 – The construction workers are back from their lunch break so I think it’s time to post this baby and move outside.

RT #11 – I bet you didn’t know that “Random Thoughts” translates to “I didn’t have a good idea for today’s post so this is what you get.”

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

One response »

Leave a Reply

