Pollution or haze?

Standard

 

Clear day Guangzhou

This is Guangzhou on a clear day. This happens to be the view from Anders’ cubicle. Even though he doesn’t have an office (no one does) the view more than makes up for that. 

 

Pollution day Guangzhou

This is Guangzhou on a not so clear day. This happens to be the view from our terrace. Even though we don’t have a huge terrace (no one does) the view more than makes up for that.

Weather Underground shows that GZ is experiencing haze. I’m no meteorologist but I would not call this haze. If Google translator is being used it would explain the translation breakdown.  Let’s call a spade a spade, it’s POLLUTION. Fortunately this is the worst I have  seen in the 3 months we’ve been here. I only remember it coming close to this bad one other day.  We are lucky that we’re here because this is what Beijing looks like just about everyday. I’m not sure I could live there if this was the norm.

I apologize for not having apples to apples photos but: 

A) I thought you might like to see what Anders sees everyday

B) I didn’t have any photos from our terrace other than T-storm and night shots. That’s the real reason. 😉

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

4 responses »

  1. As the China Daily tells me we have “fog” in Shanghai for about 6 months a year. Posted a picture on my blog once that showed the background “fog” and the response was shock at the pollution. I use two different buildings to judge the evironmental conditions. If I can’t see the bottle opener it is really bad. If I can see the slant tops it is not too bad. I had to pull out my sunglasses last week and thought, wow, have not used these in a long, long time.

  2. This is a bit like when we lived in Germany, at 1500′ but there was a chemical plant at the bottom. We never had smog, it was always low cloud!

Leave a Reply

