“Tailor-ware” party

Standard

We went to our friends house last Friday evening to meet D’s new best friend. D is really into having clothes made and might be slightly addicted to the fabric market, by her own admission. She’s the one that took us 1 1/2 weeks ago to meet her “shirt” guy. By the way, they should be ready to pick up in 2-3 days according to Ben. Yes, we had him call because the tailor spoke very little English and yes, he’ll also go pick them up when they are ready AND yes, we know we’re spoiled. D’s new BFF makes house calls and was thrilled to meet 4 more of her friends. Mr. H speaks very good English and was easy to work with.

D was in India on vacation and bought 2 saris. The salesman tried to convince her to wear them as saris. Indian women are beautiful and I think they look amazing in saris. D thinks a Western woman wearing a sari just looks like a Western woman wearing a sari and I agree.  She had one made into a Chinese-style dress and a pair of pajamas, and the other made into a Chinese-style jacket. The 3 pieces were gorgeous and I wish I had taken a picture. Based on the work he did for D, we ordered a few things. 😉

 Anders decided it would be funny to wear his largest pants there. I guess he thought the tailor would take pity on him and give him a good price. It was hilarious because he could have done an ad for a miracle weight-loss program, that’s how big they are. He pulls his belt to the last hole and the waist gathers so much it looks like he’s wearing a flour sack. When he gets dressed in the morning I tell him that those pants are ridiculous or not hideously large. Not hideously large means he can go to work as dressed, ridiculous means go try again. Mr. H had a lot fabric samples but I insisted on wrinkle-free material. I’ll iron shirts but I refuse to iron dress pants. Ugh. Anders ordered 8 pairs! Truly, there is not one pair of pants that fit him. Mr. H is going to make one pair, come to our house, and based on that he’ll  make the rest.

I ordered 2 pairs of dress pants (had a favorite pair copied just much smaller thank you very much) and 4 shirts. The shirts are copies of 3 shirts that I had. I was going to donate one of the shirts before we moved but then remembered how everyone in China raved about tailors so I brought it along. I’m so glad I did. When Mr. H brings Anders’ guinea pig pants, I’m going to have him go through my closet and determine what existing clothes can be tailored down to fit. It seems wasteful to just get rid of everything and have all new made. You can also give the tailor a picture of something you want made and they do it. Now that’s talent! Mr. H also had beautiful Chinese silk. He had shiny silk and not-so shiny silk. It’s all dry-clean only but I think I will have to have something(s) made. Not sure what but oh my, I wish you could have seen the fabric cards. You name the color and he had it.

I have to admit that I can see how it can be addicting. Shopping for fabric is entertaining. You see a stall where the fabric is piled high, walk in, and start digging. It’s kind of like looking for seashells. It’s a treasure hunt and you don’t know what you’ll find. I actually saw one woman who was crawling across a stall and she was above eye-level. Perhaps I never mentioned this but safety standards in China may need a little work.

The female readers seem to be very interested in this part of the China experience. I say, “Come for a visit and experience it for yourselves!” As soon as everything is done, I will post pictures. We can’t wait. We can’t wait to see our things. I can’t to see Anders in somethings that actually fits and he can’t wait to wear something that actually fits. Time for him to show off that new svelte frame 😉 Now I have to go to India (perhaps visit the Taj Mahal along the way) and buy a sari.

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

Leave a Reply

