Puppies, Bunnies, and Pandas oh my!

Standard

On Friday the pre-K classes had their Halloween parade and party. I was in my office when I heard a bit of a commotion outside and knew that it had to be the 2 and 3 year olds starting their party. I went to the terrace and sure enough they were coming back from their parade around the complex. I think they were on a high from that and about to experience a sugar high from the food that was laid out for them. I was  green with envy because I saw cookies and cupcakes!

Elvis is alive and well and living in GZ!

I was not the only one though that was interested in what was going on. The “noisemakers” aka construction men from upstairs were also taking in the excitement. I was watching and happened to look up and saw several faces peering out the window. I gave them a wave and ni hao and was rewarded with a smile and ni hao back. They seem to have accepted the fact that I’m going to say hello to them every time I see them. Instead of looks of disbelief they now smile and say hello. Perhaps they came to the conclusion that I’m not a crazy American, just a friendly one.

The costumes on these kids were fantastic. I’m sure they were all handmade because with so many tailors why wouldn’t you? This is quite an international group of kids but they were certainly into the spirit of the day but nothing says America like kids dressed up and a sack full of candy!

I saw: Woody, a cowboy, Spiderman wearing a turban (I loved it), Superman, a Valkyrie (Viking goddess), a pumpkin, fairies, princesses, a bride, Minnie Mouse, ballerina, a witch, Elvis, and my favorite – a traditional ethnic Chinese costume. 

She would have won "Best Costume" if I had been judging.

So other than the school party, trick-or-treating at the complex, and a few decorations at restaurants and stores that are frequented by ex-pats you would never know it was Halloween. We certainly didn’t have an early nor’easter to ruin anything!  Happy Halloween from the Puppies, Bunnies, and Pandas classes!

3PM – 80°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

2 responses »

  1. I must say, I was quite surprised to learn the Chinese celebrate Halloween. When do people wear tradition Chinese clothing? I’m sure for a special occasion. Would that be the “outfit” for a bride? What kind of occasion would a child wear it? It was at least 80 degrees when you posted your blog- how hot was it when those kids were all dressed up in their costumes?

    • To be clear, they don’t celebrate Halloween. The pre-school located in the apartment building is an international pre-school. That’s why they have the Halloween party. They celebrate most major holidays from around the globe. I’m glad my kids had the international school experience that they did, I just wish they could have started earlier. Can you imagine how well-rounded these are going to be? They are fortunate to be exposed to so much diversity early on.

Leave a Reply

