Cat Ambassador

Standard

China has cat ladies! I kind of figured that cat ladies were not an American phenomenon but I have proof. OK, it’s hearsay and would not be admissible in a court of law but my source is VERY reliable.

It should be rather obvious from this photo that Lily is a freak!

My cat Lily is rather particular in what she eats.  She likes Iams dry food, Ranch dressing, parmesan cheese, Doritos, salt and vinegar chips, and coconut chips. She has a tendency to eat any and all flowers that are brought into the house. Being the good owner that I am I have grown “cat grass” on 3 different occasions. Do you think she ever even looked at the stuff? Of course not. I have tried every brand and flavor of canned food and she doesn’t even whiff them. Yeah, she’s picky. If she was a child all of our meals would end in tears.

One bag of Iams was on the air shipment so she could have her food as soon as she got here. I sent 6 bags on the sea shipment. I just didn’t know that it would take 3 months for our sea shipment to be delivered so I ended up buying Friskies after the Iams ran out. I thought for sure she’d go on a food strike and die before she would ever touch something other than her normal food. Not so, she loved it. I’ll spare you the gory details and just tell you that her vomiting is almost non-existent since we made the switch to Friskies.  Wouldn’t you know that in the end the cheaper food is easier for her to digest!

This is Happy Cat!

So now I’m stuck with 6 bags of cat food and no one to give them to. I asked Ben if he had a cat. No. I told him why I asked and he said there is a woman in his apartment building that feeds stray cats. Let me tell you, it took him about 10 minutes to explain but almost as soon as he started I knew exactly where the story was going. I just let him go because he does love to talk, a man after my heart! He told me that her husband is dead and she’s lonely. He sees her at all times of the day with a bag on her shoulder. He asks her where she’s going and she’s always off to take care of the cats.  He said she would be very appreciative to have the food because she doesn’t have a lot of money.  What cat lady does? I got a lot more information than this but I’ll keep it pertinent. Ben also told me that he would take me to give it to her!!!! He said, “The feeling is like friend. I would take you to meet her and she very happy. She some old so she not speak English but feeling is happy to have the food.” OMG, are you kidding? Sign me up! If this comes to pass, I will take photos and write about it. I promise. I hope this is not a breakdown in communication because I really want to do this. Then we started laughing over the fact that my American cat will be eating Chinese food and the Chinese cats will be eating American food.

Just spreading the love and the goodwill here in China, one cat at a time.

4:30PM – 83°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

One response »

  1. Fiona and I have first hand experience! We were staying near the Embassy district in the summer and our route to supermarkets, restaurants etc took us past several embassies. High wire fences, cameras and guards at the corners and entrances and along a stretch of fence several small dishes and a few cats. One day as we were passing a well dressed Chinese lady appeared from one of the embassies with her box of friskies, reached under the bottom of the fence and refilled the dishes with food and fresh water. On our way back it was swarming with cats, all behind the fences!

Leave a Reply

