No Affairs for Me, Darn

Standard

I met a fellow GZ blogger the other day for coffee. He stumbled upon my blog while looking for ex-pat things to do in GZ. He left a comment, I read his blog, and I thought we had a lot in common. He had made M&M cookies and posted a picture of them on his blog. Why would I not want to  meet this guy?  He moved here not too long after I did so I thought it would be nice to get together and compare notes. We met at a nice little  bakery. We talked for about 1 1/2 hours and  had a good time. Conversation flowed, there were no awkward lulls in the conversation. I could have talked longer, no surprise, but I had to get home for an 11:00 meeting. Alright, it was for my in-home massage but I do have to meet the masseuse at the door.

Fellow blogger walked out with me and Ben was waiting right in front with the motor running. Hmmm. I didn’t call him. He is able to get street-side parking in this part of town so I was actually going to WALK to where he was but there he was. I said my goodbyes, off went fellow blogger, and I got in the car. I was greeted with a face, not the usual grin. It was a “something isn’t right about this” face.  So…what to do, what to do? I felt like I needed to explain why I was meeting a man other than my husband. Did Ben think I was a cougar? Now that’s funny! I explained how I met fellow blogger. I also hatched a plot though to make sure that Ben knew that Anders was aware of my morning meeting.

I was meeting Anders at 6:00 at the office with a friend who was visiting from the States. (Hey L!) I sent him a text telling him that he had to ask me in the car how my morning coffee went with fellow blogger. I needed  to be sure that Ben knew all was right in the Leidal marriage.  I thought Anders would just say something like, “Hey Karen. How did your morning coffee with fellow blogger go?” Oh no. I should have known. He sat up front with Ben, leaned over, and said, “Hey Ben. About this guy that Karen met this morning, was he wearing one of these? (he pointed to his wedding band) I’m a little worried about who she’s meeting.” Ben very seriously replied that he couldn’t see. I groaned because I thought that the humor and teasing were not going to translate. Ben caught on quickly though and then the laughing started. Ben said that he thinks he’s seen this guy at one of the hotels, hahaha,  and he would go over there and do some checking, hahaha. Anders said I’m glad to know that you’re on my side, hahaha and you let me know what you find out, hahaha. Oh they were having a good time with it.

I learned a few things from this episode. I really like fellow blogger, we do have a lot in common even thought he’s young enough to be a much younger brother. Boomerang Bakery makes the best cappuccino in the world. Ben has Anders’ back. He is my protector – I already knew that but he just keeps solidifying it. If I want to do anything surreptitious, I better call a taxi 😉

1PM – 85°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

2 responses »

  1. I wondered if you’d see this. Oh Jim, it was so funny. We will definitely get together with spouses in tow so no one will be upset, including our driver. You flash that ring and I guarantee he’ll laugh.

  2. Karen, this post made me laugh out loud! Next time I will flash my ring in front of Ben. Anyways, I had a lot of fun talking to you and I think we do have a lot in common. Have fun on your trip to Northern China with Anders and we’ll try to catch up later. Next time I’ll bring Joanna so that both Anders and Ben can meet her.

Leave a Reply

