Didn’t secretly wear my when

Standard

Remember the post I wrote regarding the travel site translations? Well, I went to the place that was the subject of the post. I reread some of the translations and believe it or not, they made a little more sense. What does that say about me? I had no idea what to expect when I decided to go to Jingyue Park. The concierge recommended it and they usually have good ideas, limited as they were in Changchun ūüėȬ†The park was a 40 minute ride from the city center. Again, it was interesting to see what was going on along the way. The farther away I got , the more industrial it became. It wasn’t awful, I’ve seen worse industrial areas.

I paid my $4.50 at the ticket window, asked for a map (in Mandarin thank you very much), received one which showed how proficient I am in Mandarin (not really because it was only 3 words), and was on my merry way. It was very cold, I’m sure it was below freezing. There was ice on puddles in the parking lot and along the banks¬†of the ponds. I was glad that I was warned about how cold I’d be and packed my hat and mittens. Do you know how hard it is to take pictures wearing mittens? The sun was trying to come through the clouds but didn’t make it. It definitely looked like winter, minus snow. I knew from the map there was a temple and bell tower. I saw them as soon as I entered the park and getting to them became my goal. They were also the highest point in the park and I always like to go as high as I can.

The park turned out to be beautiful,¬†even in all its¬†bleakness. ¬†There were very few people and I felt like I had the place to¬†¬†myself. There were several paths and I just wandered, stopping to take photos. I came across a few people fishing. What they were catching is beyond me because the only fish I¬†saw was a very tiny minnow. I saw a sign that said there was no¬†catching fish¬†in private. I did not confront¬†anyone about it because as you can tell from the photo the¬†catching fish¬†is taking place in public. I did not see anyone¬†catching fish¬†in private, which is what you’d expect if they were¬†catching fish¬†in private.

You’ll be glad to know that I didn’ t have a romp¬†either in or out water. I think if¬†Anders¬†had been with me I may have indulged and¬†had a romp but I was alone. ¬†I didn’ t up cobble either. I was not secretly wearing my when therefore I did not swagger into the woods.

As I was walking around the ponds on the lower level I saw steps leading up to something. I had to know what. I was rather surprised when I got to the top because there was the¬†ocean green sea¬†that someone had written about in the travel review section. Of course it wasn’t an ocean or a sea but it was very large and impressive. There are boat rides but they were shut down for the winter. It was also freezing up there. The lower part of the park was sheltered and when I got to the top of the steps I was hit with a very cold wind. The view was worth it though.

I decided it was time to make my way to the bell tower and temple. I made it to the top of the steps and what do you know? The gate was locked. Closed for the winter. I guess there aren’t enough people to make it worth their while to keep it open. I really wanted to get to the top of the temple for the best view. Oh well.

I spent about 3 hours walking around, taking lots of photos, and just appreciating where I was. I still pinch myself that I get to live here!

The bell tower and temple

The view from as high as I could go

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4:30PM – 78¬į
About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

Leave a Reply

