Where’s a driver when you need him?

Standard

I actually had to drive myself around Cincinnati today! GASP. I took Anders to work. We are in a hotel next to the office building but HE had to be driven. It may have been raining but I choose to believe he just likes being driven around. As he got out he told me in Mandarin what time to pick him up :-)It was a very odd feeling to be behind the wheel. I think the last time I remember that feeling was the first time I got in the car after getting my license, more than 35 years ago. I haven’t been in the driver’s seat since I drove myself to the airport on August 1. I remember my friend telling me that what took her by surprise when she drove for the first time was how fast she had to go. I know what she’s talking about. Driving on the freeway was a little disconcerting  but it’s like riding a bike. 

When we knew we were going to have a driver in China it was the one thing I didn’t think I was going to like. I thought I was going to feel trapped or like I lost my freedom. No more deciding at the last minute to go somewhere or changing my mind about going somewhere. Set aside that fact that Ben is a wonderful person and I can’t imagine what my experience in China would be without him, I just love having a driver. I love that the gas tank is always full, the car is clean inside and out, the maintenance is someone else’s problem, I don’t have to remember to pay the insurance  and renew the tag. I never give the vehicle a second thought.  I don’t have to Google map my destination and I certainly don’t worry about whether the signs are in Chinese or English or Pinyin. I just call Ben, he shows up, and off we go. If I have a few places to go and no time constraints, I tell Ben what I need to do and let him plan my itinerary. One day we crisscrossed town because I wasn’t able to find what I needed at the first 2 stores I went to. I would have been irritated with myself and probably would have bagged that night’s dinner but I didn’t have to. I apologized but Ben had no problem with it. He likes to drive, I don’t!

After re-reading this post, I may have been deflecting in the first paragraph. I’m the one that’s spoiled, not Anders!

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

Leave a Reply

