Planes, trains, automobiles, and hugs

Standard

So,

1 train ride

1 performance of Andrew’s play (may I say I was blown away – Broadway quality show)

1 Thanksgiving dinner

1 hour of teaching at the Literacy Center

2 home stays

2 birthday dinners (Anders had Maryland crab cakes and Kiersten had snow crab legs -notice a similarity?)

2 Christmas tree-trimmings

2 continents

3 car rentals

4 flights

4 runs and 2 hikes (mad at myself that I wasn’t more disciplined) :-{

4 hotel stays

company of 5 dogs and 5 cats

5 States

6 pounds (see 4 runs and 2 hikes)

17,000 air miles

numerous car rides

countless coffees, breakfasts, lunches, and dinners with friends and family

dim sum in NYC’s Chinatown (not kidding)

and more than enough hugs to last until May,

I am home safe and sound in Guangzhou.

7:30 AM – 54°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

4 responses »

  1. Gonna comment in order:

    SO incredibly grateful to have been there to finally see Andrew in a play…thank you and Dad SO MUCH for the hotel room!!!!

    Were we one of the “homestays”??? First time I had ever even heard that term was my P2P trip to the UK!! 😛 Not sure we count, seeing as I’m your daughter and all…but hey. 😉

    Birthday dinner was AMAZING!!!! Despite there being a torrential downpour outside that prevented us from actually GOING to Red Lobster for the crab feast… I had a wonderful evening, thanks to you guys and my wonderful husband. 🙂

    Thanks SO MUCH for helping me decorate our tree!! Steven wouldn’t have helped nearly that much. 😉

    That rental car smelled phenomenal….pretty sure we will never actually own a new car ourselves haha so I gotta soak it up while I can!

    Thanks for flying to see us….sorry that none of the runs or hikes actually happened at our house. 😛

    Hope our 2 dogs and 2 cats contributing to your total actually behaved themselves!!!! 😀

    Misc: Gotta love our 1 state, several pounds (considering that we ate our almost every night), lots of air miles, car rides, meals, and plenty of hugs, Spanish tapas and Mexican margaritas (both of which you forgot to include in your grand tally… heheh 😉 )

    Love you both very much!!!
    Kiersten

    PS: Glad to hear you got back safely… 😉

    • Gonna reply in order:

      So glad you and Steven were able to make the show Friday night. It was nice to be en masse to support Andrew.

      Of course you were one of the home stays. It was also the only place we were able to unpack. You don’t know how nice THAT was.

      Your BD dinner was fabulous. Steven did a great job and it was way better than Red Lobster. Yes, I said that.

      I thoroughly enjoyed helping you decorate your trees. Fahza never helps me much either.

      New car smell? It’s one of the best smells in the world. Don’t know why Ben would ever want to get rid of it 😉

      I’m sorry that no physical activity took place at your house either. I really needed it by then.

      I love your pets!!!!!!!!!!

      Spanish tapas and the best margarita I ever drank were why I needed to run at your house.

      Love you both too.

  2. It was so lovely to see you and catch up. Glad you got back safely to GZ and I look forward to the blogs! I emailed you the info on the cultural centre, Muir has just come back from a trip and he said it was very well organized.

Leave a Reply

