Is this a good thing?

Standard

The TV and programs in the apartment are provided by the complex. To put it simply the channel selection was never good and after our return last week it had gotten even worse. We’re not big TV watchers but there were only about 2 channels to choose from, down from the previous 8.  Their satellite also stops working if a fish jumps too close to the bank in the river. In other words, becoming couch potatoes was not going to happen in the next 3 years. That may have changed today.

Over the weekend Anders bought his own Christmas gift: a satellite dish. He hasn’t even seen it but I know he’ll be excited. We chose our package because of 2 things: NHL channel and Food Network. I think it’s obvious who wanted what. After the 2 very nice installers/owners left I gave it a go. Normally I don’t watch  TV during the day unless I’m ironing. I must have something on the TV in order to iron. I used the guide (there was none on the apartment satellite – we’re talking bare bones here) and that alone gave me a palpitation. It was so American looking! Then I found it. The Food Network Channel. I’m fairly certain a spotlight came on and I could swear I heard a choir of angels singing. I immediately called Anders and told him not to bother me the rest of the day. I had cooks to watch, recipes to think about, ingredient lists to make, and hunger pangs to deal with.

Not really, I watched Giada cook and then I was done. How much I’ll watch is up in the air (Up in the Air with George Clooney is showing on HBO at 2:00 – how do I know? We now have a viewing guide! ) I’m excited for Anders. He has several sports channels and will enjoy destressing from work by watching people beat up on each other, unless of course he is watching the Golf Channel. It will also be nice for Andrew while he’s here, he arrives tomorrow night! While he’s coping with jet-lag he can watch Nat Geo at 3AM or Discovery Science while I’m at my Mandarin lesson.  It’s nice to know we have options.

Merry Christmas Honey. So glad you took care of your own present this year because I didn’t have a clue what to get you!

2:30PM – 64°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

2 responses »

  1. shhhhh! don’t tell Tom what Anders got for Christmas. 🙂

    I was going to offer to send you a box of dvd’s that we had from Geneva, but now that I think about it, there are probably tons of knock-off dvd’s there that you have access to. Merry Merry!!

    • Thanks for the thought but you are correct. I buy them for about $1.50. And Tom will not hear from me what Anders got HIMSELF for Christmas. I’m thinking about my Dutch baby. Miam-miam.

Leave a Reply

