How many people does it take to change a light bulb?

Standard

Three. It takes 3 people + 45 minutes + a thorough dismantling of my oven.

Since we moved in to our apartment I have been keeping a list of things that need to be fixed. It seemed silly to call for each little thing so I waited until I had a lot of little things. Housekeeping came and took care of my honey-do list. You men might know it better as the I-have-to-listen-to-the ball and chain-nag-until-I-get-everything-done list. 😉  Believe it or not one of their assigned duties is to change light bulbs. Truly, when I need a bulb changed I’m to call housekeeping. Oh yes, reintegration back to the States might be a tad difficult. One that needed to be changed was the oven light. I could see where it was but had no clue how to do it and couldn’t even get to the actual bulb. So it was on the list.

What a production it turned out to be. The handyman came, looked at it, and called for back up which came in the guise of another handyman and a cleaning lady. They actually removed my Easy-Bake oven from the cabinet and took the entire thing apart to get to the bulb! If I hadn’t seen it with my own 2 eyes I never would have believed it.  It defies logic. I was worried about how the oven would work after they put it back together. Maybe one of them worked in an oven manufacturing facility but I doubt it. How did they know that the oven was reassembled properly and would not start a fire?

The good news is that the oven works fine and there have been no fires. The bad news is that if that bulb goes out, I will be baking in a dark oven!

4:30PM – 69°

Not everyone has a built-in Easy Bake oven.

 

The troublesome bulb-notice there is only one rack!

 

 

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

4 responses »

  1. You should have seen how many people/times it took to fix a small leak from the upstairs unit that was dripping on our bathroom ceiling…. It took 2 handyman + 2-3 building service folks 3 weeks and 4 trips into our unit!

Leave a Reply

