Asian Christmas tree

Standard

I did indeed end up getting a Christmas tree. I went back on the weekend to a different part of OneLink (Crap Market). Ben had pointed it out the first day but said the selection wasn’t nearly as big as the main part of the market. If you remember the first and only tree that I priced was 900RMB then went up to 1,000RMB. Well…I ended up paying 190RMB!!! It even included 2 strands of colored lights. They promptly ended up in the trash. I put them on the tree and when I plugged them in one strand made a sizzling sound. You would have thought I put a steak on the grill. Upon further inspection the plugs were basically hollow, partially made of plastic,  wobbly, and bent in half with barely any effort. I had bought other lights (with an American plug but they won’t be making the trip back in a few years) and Chinese lantern lights on the first day of tree hunting. They are meant for Chinese New Year but as I had decided on doing an Asian tree they were perfect for my Christmas tree. Years ago we started adding origami water bombs to our trees to add color. Then when we were in Switzerland and had much smaller trees Andrew, one of three best people in the world,  thought we should do a separate small tree with only white lights and water bombs. We made them in earnest and have photos of friends that were visiting at Christmas time and were put to work helping us make them. (That means you ML in Paris ;-)) Because of limited storage space here they are the only tree decorations I brought with us. While I miss my American trees I have to say that I’m very pleased with the way this one turned out. It’s very Chinese: bright, colorful, and a bit over the top. The best thing is that we now have a storage room and all I have to do is transport the tree onto the elevator, stand it in the corner of the room, and next year I have instant tree. This is my first artificial tree but I have to say there are some advantages.

The antlers that are seen on the front of the tree are courtesy of Andrew. We went out to eat on Friday night and the waitresses were all wearing them. It was pretty darn cute to be sitting in a French restaurant (peasant food not haute cuisine) and seeing these adorable Chinese girls with them on. At the end of the meal our waitress gave them to Andrew and had her photo taken with him. He made her night. I know they’re not Asian but because we got them here and were more than likely made here, they count.

 PS – Ben was impressed when he saw the tree. When I told him that I paid 190RMB he thought I got a small tree. He said I did “Some good” paying what I did.

7PM – 66°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

Leave a Reply

