Random thoughts – Beijing

Standard
  • Beijing was very easy to navigate. Taxis are incredibly cheap. I don’t think we paid more than $2.75 for a ride. Walking around is easy as well. It’s good for getting the blood circulating too šŸ˜‰
  • We were so lucky to see the sun all 4 days instead of the gray/brown cloud that settles in during the winter.
  • Peking duck? Amazing, as you would expect since we ate the dish where it was invented. My mouth is watering just thinking of the crispy, golden skin and tender meat all rolled into a dumpling wrapper. Actually I’m not sure what we were rolling the meat in but it was hao chi (delicious).
  • We came upon the meanest, nastiest, angriest Chinese yet. But then again, he’s only one in a billion. šŸ™‚ It was a taxi driver. He didn’t want to take us back to the hotel. Then he just started screaming and saying that he was going to charge us $3/person. He pointed his finger at us and screamed 100RMB, 100RMB, 100RMB! We hadn’t paid overĀ $2.75 for the farthest ride and since when does a taxi driver charge per person!!!He made quite a scene and other people were staring. Yikes man, step away from the public.
  • We actually ate lunch for a total of $5 forĀ 2 cans of soda, a bottle of water, and 24 dim sum. To be honest it tasted like it only cost $5 but it’s a benchmark.
  • There were many times when I caught myself with my mouth hanging open while looking at a display or an artifact or Buddha statue or any of a number of things.Ā  I was embarrassed a few times because I know it wasĀ for more than a few secondsĀ and I didn’t look so intelligent.
  • I’m wondering what other communist country’s square I can visit. I’ve been to Red Square in Moscow andĀ Tian’An Men Square in China. Perhaps North Korea should be next? Just kidding.
  • I really like Guangzhou! What does that have to do with Beijing? The cold, the Siberian wind, the smog (even thought we didn’t see it doesn’t mean the rumors aren’t true), and the size of the city made me appreciate GZ even more than I already do. Besides, I still think the nicest people in all of China live in GZ.
  • After being chased back to the hotel by the bone-chilling cold and mean taxi man, we sat in the hotel atrium for almost 5 hours just chatting with no electronic devices!!! Truthfully, it was a highlight for me.Ā  (I may have gotten my phone out once to check that I was right about something and I’m sure I was. :-P)
  • Don’t give your camera to “the best person in the world” to hold for you while you visit the lady’s room. Today’s slideshow is the result. The worst part is that I did it twice. I knew the second time what would happen andĀ just wanted to see what he would come up with.Ā šŸ™‚ Take note of Anders’ incredible acting job in the photo where he’s facing the wall.Ā  Andrew directed the scene and they did a fine job.Ā Anders looks so pathetic and you can’t even see his face! What emotion.

3PM – 63Ā°

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

One response »

  1. I KNEW I was going to have to travel to the ends of the earth to get that blackberry out of his hands….

    Love the pics. Very artsy. :). What an incredible country. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

