Long way up/down, depends on your perspective

Standard

Towards the end of Andrew’s visit we still needed to check the TV Tower box. After we got back from Beijing the weather wasn’t cooperating but we had to do it. We were down to 2 days and we chose the best of the worst days. Not what we wanted but better than not going at all.

On the short drive from our house to the tower it seemed to grow in height as we got closer. I must admit that I was starting to have second thoughts about it. We managed to talk Ben into coming with us. He’s not crazy about heights but if Andrew was going, he was too. As it turns out the elevator ride was the worst part. We went as high as the inside observation deck which is 428 meters high, or 1,400 feet. It’s up there. The elevator faces the outside and it goes fast. We could see buildings and the river getting smaller and smaller at a very fast pace. I think if the elevator was enclosed I would have been fine. I even said to Andrew that I thought I wasn’t sure I could do it again with other company. However, once it stopped I was fine.  As I was doing research the morning of our trip I learned that there are 2 decks that protrude from the building with a glass floor. As we were driving there I could see them. I had never noticed them before. That’s the first place we headed. I hesitated taking that first step. I felt like I was stepping off the building and  going to fall. My brain knew I wasn’t  but my heart didn’t. I think my heart rate is going up just thinking about that step. Nervous laughter ensued, let me tell you. But then I was used to it and took in all that I could see.

And I could see pretty far. It was hazy as a storm front was moving in but we could see enough to know that GZ is one huge city. I knew that and because of the population it would have to be but still…I had no idea how far it stretches and never really saw just how many skyscrapers there are. We were able to see the island where we live and our apartment tower. Seeing things from as high up as one can get is so much fun. That’s why I like to go to the highest point of a city or town that I’m visiting. I get a completely different perspective. I would love to go at night. I can only imagine how beautiful the city is seeing it from so high with all of its colored lights. I just  may have to convince Anders to do that.

We didn’t do the bubble trams (the outside ride on the upper most deck). That is best saved for a clear and windless day. Yes, the structure sways in the wind. I know that I will really have to work up the nerve for that.  I think I made a pact with Andrew to do it when he returns to GZ in the summer. 🙂 That gives me  7-8 months to think about it.

3PM – 73°

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

One response »

  1. What fabulous pics Karen! The view is incredible. When we were in Chicago I stood on one of those glass outcroppings in the Sears Tower…or whatever it is called now. Pretty scary taking that first step!!

Leave a Reply

