Good to be the king

Standard

Today is museum day. It will be a short post because Andrew got sick at one of them 😦

Anders, Andrew, and I went to the Museum of the Mausoleum of the Nanyue King. The tomb was discovered by accident in 1983 when they were digging for the foundation of the hotel that is currently next door. It hadn’t been touched so everything found was as it had been 2,000 years ago when the king was buried. Zhao Mo was the second Nanyue king and was buried in a shroud made of almost 3,000 jade tiles that were sewn together with red silk thread. This is the only known shroud of its kind. It’s amazing that it survived for 2,000 years but then again I suppose it would because it’s jade. Also found in his tomb were the bodies of 15 sacrificial victims. While it was good to be king it was not good to be his wife, favorite concubine, cook, or servant.

The museum contains several thousand relics and are very nicely displayed. Most of the captions are also in English.  Besides the shroud I suppose the other most noteworthy relic found was the gold imperial seal of Zhao Mo. It’s the oldest one found in China and it’s right here in Guangzhou! Also on display are ceramic pillows. The first time I ever saw one I was with Ben at a flea market type place. I thought it was a little stool and before I had the chance to open  my mouth and make a fool of myself he explained what it was. Can you imagine? If you don’t have pillows why wouldn’t you use your arm? Anyway, they’re beautiful.

The next museum we visited was the day before Andrew left. He, Ben, and I visited the Guangdong Museum. This museum is only 1 1/2 years old and it was practically empty (of visitors that is). We walked through an exhibition of the wood carving of southern China. It’s hard to believe how intricate the pieces are. It was a fascinating exhibit. There were also pots, ceramics, and porcelain on display. Some of them were from 500 BC and still intact. We were just getting to the best part, the history of the Guangdong area, when Andrew said that he needed to go home. No details will be forthcoming. 🙂 Next time I go to the museum I’m starting at the top floor and working my way down. That way I’m sure to see everything I missed the first time around.

These are just 2 of the museums to visit in GZ. I think they’re probably the best of the lot but I have to do some more reconnaissance work before I make my final decision. Tough life, I know.

I’m short on photos because no flash is allowed and it’s tough to take nice photos w/o flash in flourescent lighting. Also Andrew was supposed to send me his photos but still hasn’t done that. I guess he’s busy being an actor or student or something. 😉 This is the real reason: I forget to take them because I’m so caught up in the age or beauty of the displays.

3PM – 67°

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

2 responses »

  1. Wow! Another amazing thing about those museums is the fact that you know the history of many of the artifacts and are able to articulate it so well for those of us not so enlightened! Well done!! Xox

Leave a Reply

