Winner, winner, chicken dinner!

Standard

If you are at all squeamish about raw chicken you may want to skip this post. That means you Kiersten. 🙂

A few weeks ago when I was doing my meal planning, hateful chore that it is, I asked Anders if he had any hankerings. He said that he would like a nice, roasted chicken. I used to fix them just about every Sunday while in Switzerland and Cincinnati. We hadn’t had one here yet so finally I bought some at the store. (One day I will get up the nerve to buy one at the wet market.)  So last night I fixed them. Them? Oh yes, they only weighed 2 pounds.  When I chose them from the store shelf I saw that the heads were attached. No big deal, you see it all in China. When I took them out of the bag I was unprepared to still see the legs and feet attached. They were very neatly tucked up inside its rear end.  Not only that but the feet still had the claws. I laughed and almost wet myself. I know that the reason they are packaged that way is because I’m supposed to marinate them, boil them, deep-fry them, and eat them. Been there, done that, and was not impressed. WHACK, off they went. WHACK, off came the head and neck. I felt a bit like an executioner!  I need to purchase a big cleaver if I’m going to serve whole chickens too many more times.

On the outside it now looked like a chicken you would buy in the States. I had no idea what to expect from the inside. Would I have to gut them, would they have a giblet bag, or would they be empty? Well, one had the liver and few other organs attached and that was easy enough to clear out. The other one was completely empty. Are there no butchering standards? I know that answer to that, NO. Both bags indicated that they weighed 900 grams or 2 pounds. One of them was larger than the other. I also have to say that if they were young girls they wouldn’t need training bras, they were not big-breasted by any means. After 45 minutes in the Easy-Bake, they were ready to eat. 

They turned out to be very tasty chickens! They were quite juicy, must have been those 5 legumes and 4 corns that it had to eat over the course of its life. I’m on my way to buy a cleaver! 😉

BTW – I quoted 2 movies in this post (the title and a photo caption). Any guesses? Andrew knows them for sure.

3PM – 64°

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

2 responses »

  1. I knew you would be grossed out. I thought about you and Kiersten while I was writing this. That is why I had the disclaimer for the first sentence. Good on you for continuing to read it anyway!

  2. I must say, I was totally grossed out by your little chicken pictures. I know, I know, the chicken nuggets I enjoy so much from McDonald’s also once looked like your pictures. I just prefer never to have to see or know my reality. I get that someone has to do, I just don’t want it to be me. Like I’ve said to you before- I would definitely starve to death if I lived in China. I just don’t feel I would be good at decapitating or amputating my food source.

Leave a Reply

