Random thoughts

Standard
  • My orchid bloomed. They are tiny flowers, no smell, and my cat likes to eat the leaves. I’m quite proud that it didn’t die in the first week. Now to keep it alive I have to track down some “medicine water”.
  • I’m learning a few words in Cantonese! They are all phrases and sentences that I can use with Ben. He’s teaching me and I always have my “Ben book” in the car so I can write down what he teaches. Why the heck am I doing this? And do  you know how difficult it is to write an oral language?
  • Beauty is cultural. Asians stay OUT of the sun and use skin whitening products and we LIKE the sun and do stupid things like tanning beds and spray tans. Just like people who over-indulge in spray tanning and are orange, there are Asian women that over-indulge in bleaching their skin and look dead.
  • The Chinese word for eye is yanjing and eyeglasses is yanjing. The only difference is the tone on the last syllable. Now add the word for eyelid which is yanjian and I have myself a train wreck. Anders and I bought 4 pairs of glasses for the same price that we paid for 1/2 a pair in the US! Anyway, when I asked Ben to take me to pick up my new glasses I told him to take me to pick up my new eyes! Yeah, that was one of those lessons that I’ll never forget and will never confuse the 2 again.
  • We went to the Guangzhou Opera House for a concert on Valentine’s Day with friends of ours. It’s the second concert I’ve attended in China and I’m amazed at the number of young children that go. I think it’s wonderful that their parents do that for them. Now for the really amazing part – they are so well-behaved! The only interruption at the concert on Tuesday was a cell phone and I’m fairly certain that it didn’t belong to a 6 year-old.
  • There was a special drawing (prize not artwork) at the concert and believe it or not an Irishman won. How that happened is beyond me. The feature performer drew the winning ticket and was English. I bet most of the audience thought it was rigged.  
  • Before we moved to China I was a tad concerned about natural disasters i.e. earthquakes, typhoons, tsunamis. I Googled and GZ is not in an earthquake zone. Our biggest threat is from flooding and typhoons. Somehow that  made me feel safer about moving here. Despite that we were awakened at 2:30AM with the bed gently swaying. The closet doors were also rattling a bit.  I knew that when 2 of my brothers got Facebook accounts something was going to happen 😉
  • This is for Anders. In my post about Mr. C. I said that the first thing we were shown was a live pearl. I stand corrected, of course we weren’t shown a live pearl but a live oyster. OK Anders? Will you stop teasing me about it now?  Huh, will ya? 🙂
  • The apartment across from us is still being renovated and it still looks like a bomb hit it and if we live here for 5 years it still won’t be done.
  • Anders has to find a new spa. They are closed. I guess not too many people liked having their belly buttons moved to their backs via their internal organs.
  • Ben’s daughter is 6 months old today and absolutely beautiful.

3:30PM – 61°

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

Leave a Reply

