Bigger than a kitchenette

Standard

The weather is wearing me down! I can count on one hand the number of times the sun has made an appearance in GZ in the last 2 months! I do not remember anyone telling me about this nor did I sign up for it.

The posts have been sparse because my worst nightmare has come true – I have nothing to write about. I don’t know if it’s because I haven’t been out and about as much (see 2nd sentence), the honeymoon phase is over (I don’t think it is), or I’m just not in the mood (see 1st sentence). So…because I’m neurotic and afraid people will stop reading my blog and I will  lose touch with my friends and family I must post something. 😉 Quite a few people have wondered what our apartment and the grounds look like. I’m desperate so I’ll do a few posts about that. Don’t stop checking in because you’re bored. It’ll get better, really.

I’ll start with the kitchen because for me it’s one of the most important rooms.  It has the basic appliances including an American refrigerator, microwave, and dishwasher but man there isn’t more than a 2-foot wide span of work space. The best meal I ever ate was in Italy. It came from a kitchen that was not much bigger than a closet and I don’t mean walk-in. So, that’s my barometer. If a tiny, spit-fire, Italian Nona could produce the most amazing food in a closet, then an average-size, sassy, WASP mother can certainly cook everyday meals in her kitchen that most Chinese would love to have. And that’s what it’s about: appreciating what I have and learning what I need, not what I want. (but I do miss my Swiss kitchen)

3PM – 61°

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

4 responses »

  1. I LOVED this post!!!!!! I have questions and comments. Is your apartment considered large on the average? Why are you lucky to have a washer and dryer? Your oven DOES look like an easy bake! Is the microwave above it? It looks like it is up too high. Do you reach it comfortably? Everything is so clean……. and white. Your Swiss kitchen was AMAZING!!!!! I never saw that picture before. Just to clarify: You are right, the size of the kitchen has nothing to do with the quality of meals produced (I’m a prime example of that). It is the ingredients used. Let’s talk it out, for example, in Italy, they grow lovely herbs and vegetables in a beautiful garden being watered from the heavens as opposed to a 2X4 plot using sewage that you need special soap to clean said herbs and vegetables. Italians rely on the cow quite a bit, which make delicious meatballs and lasagna. You are eating camels with a side of congealed blood. See the difference? Can’t wait to see the rest of the apartment!

    • You had me howling. I will answer all of your questions after I’m done with all of the other rooms. It’ll be a good wrap-up so keep them coming. I think what we need to do is have you come to China, together we’ll visit some city/town/village, and have us separately write about our experinces. It would be hilarious!

Leave a Reply

