The life of a Taitai

Standard

Today was a fantastic day. First of all the sun has made an appearance for the last several days and it’s amazing how much of a difference it makes. The temperature is warmer and there is very little humidity in the air. In other words it feels like late spring. I’m told it won’t last long so I intend to enjoy it while I can.

I started off with a Mandarin lesson that was a lot of fun. I learned about the Chinese holidays and their meaning. I read a poem associated with the upcoming festival. I read it to Ben in the car. I went back about 45 years and felt like I was a kindergartner reciting a poem for my mom and dad. He was a good sport and helped me where I needed it.  Personally I think I’m helping prepare him for when his daughter comes home and recites her little Qingming Jie poem. I guarantee she will have better pronunciation and will be a thousand times cuter. 🙂

Then I happened to mention to Ben that I need chicken wire (did not even come close to using those words) to keep Lily from jumping off the balcony of our 6th floor apartment. Yesterday she was perched on the edge and I was just waiting for a bird to fly by and have her forget where she was. She thinks she’s a tough outdoor cat. She’s not! He took me to a tiny hardware stall near the wet market and asked me how much I needed. I NEVER expected to do it today so I never measured. I just wanted to know if he knew where I could accomplish this task. He probably thought typical woman. If I just get the measurement he’ll go and get what I need and probably at a better price without the American standing next to him. I don’t feel bad having him do it either because I have learned that he loves to bargain.

Then I met RHHOG (Real House Husband of Guangzhou)http://rhhog.tumblr.com/ for lunch at 12:30.  He’s the fellow blogger I met that lives here in GZ.  I had such a good time with him. I snagged a table outside in the sunshine and we were able to talk, drink beer, eat burgers, and talk some more. I told Ben that I would probably only be at the restaurant for an 1 hour – 1 1/2 hours. At 3:30 he drove by. I am laughing as I write this. I guess he was checking to make sure I was OK. Now RHHOG is the same guy that Ben got a little upset about way back when I met him the first time for coffee. That post seemed to be the favorite of a lot of people. Where would I be without my protector? Last night when I told Anders that I was meeting RHHOG for lunch he asked me if Ben knew? 😉 RHHOG decided it would be wise to introduce himself to Ben and exchange niceties (in Mandarin). I further explained the situation to Ben on the way home. I think we’re cool now. And just in case you’re nosy, RHHOG, Mrs. RHHOG, Anders, and I have been out for dinner together and will meet again next month for dim sum.

So to recap my difficult day:

  • Fun mandarin lesson
  • Mere mention of needing to buy something and I’m whisked to the market
  • 3 1/2 hour  lunch with a good friend outside in the sunshine
  • Oh yes, leftovers for dinner so I don’t even need to cook!

Life doesn’t get any better.

6PM – 76°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

2 responses »

  1. A wonderful and funny day indeed! Thanks again or sharing your wonderful experiences and learning. Always love ’em! xo

    • I’m glad you like them. Sometimes I think that people will wonder why I even bother to write what I do. THen I remind myself that the #1 reason I’m writing this is for myself (I’m selfish). I want to have an account when I leave here and this was one of those days that I want to remember. Needless to say after Anders read this he teased me a bit about my lifestyle here. :-*

Leave a Reply

