Pork that tastes like pork!

Standard

Well I went and did it yesterday. At the wet market – I bought pork.

I picked out a nice little filet, she tried to get me to buy more (they always do), and paid for it. Her next door neighbor was trying to get me to buy from him but he wasn’t subtle enough. I could have started a bargaining war (thanks RHHOG for that warning) but the language skills aren’t up for that yet. I’d just end up looking like more of a fool than I already do. 🙂

I made pork fried rice with it and it was delicious. It was the best pork we’ve had since moving here. We haven’t eaten a lot of any meat but what I buy comes from the supermarket. This filet was so tender and tasted like pork! Imagine that? I could actually taste the meat. It weighed 3/4 of a pound and the price? For a filet, mind you. $2.45.

I told Ben about it this morning and he was impressed that I did it! He said that not many Americans buy meat at the wet markets. He said that because this one is in the city he trusts the quality more than the ones that are further out. He told me that next time he’ll go with me and show me where to buy the best meat for the best price. 🙂

Next: live shrimp! I’ll try to take pictures.

1PM – 81°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

Leave a Reply

