Please accept my apology. Please?

Standard

I have been a very bad girl this past month. I was in the US for 2 weeks so I knew I wouldn’t write while there (although I did manage to post one article). I thought after I returned and recovered from jet-lag that I would get back to it but alas, that did not happen. The past 2 1/2 weeks have been busier than anticipated.

I started my training to become a Berlitz English teacher. The actual training class time was 2 1/2 days but I also had on-line modules to complete and demo classes to prepare for as well. It took more time than I thought and truthfully I suffered from brain-drain. OK..maybe the training isn’t the only reason for brain-drain but I’ll continue to delude myself with that. 😉 While in the process of training, I actually started teaching! That’s trust. My new student is a Chinese businessman who is a bit above beginner level. I was nervous for the first minute but when I saw how much more nervous he was my nerves settled. He was very nice and was a happy camper when he left. Hopefully if he was told that it was my first time teaching the Berlitz method and that I hadn’t even finished training he would have been surprised. I NEVER expected to start so soon but it in the end it was perfect. The first class is the toughest and I got that out of the way sooner than I expected.

Now I have 2 days left to prepare for another trip. Anders and I are off to Geneva and France. I haven’t been back to Geneva since I left 4 years ago. Words can’t express how excited I am to see good friends, visit favorite restaurants, shop, and soak up the experience of Geneva. Tuesday we head to Avignon where we’ll spend a few days exploring Provence. The last family trip we took before leaving 4 years ago was to the south of France and it was our favorite trip of all (not an easy feat considering the amazing vacations we had in the 5 years we were in Europe). After 3 days there we will drive for an hour or so and go to a little village to attend our Pub Brother’s wedding celebration. I don’t know how you snagged her my FFF (Fine Finnish Friend) but somehow you convinced her! This is going to be so much fun and again, it’s a chance to catch up with dear friends. Talk about a small world – my FFF’s mother lives in a city about 1 1/2 from Guangzhou! I can’t wait to meet her.

So it’s another trip away, another few days to get over jet-lag, and then hopefully I’ll start writing regularly again. I can’t promise daily posts anymore but I will try to write once a week if not twice.

My student, you ask? What will he do while I’m away for the next 10 days? He was headed to the airport after class on Monday for a business trip and doesn’t come back until after I do. Sometimes things have a way of working out for the best.

12:30 PM – 94°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

