Doha, Qatar airport

Standard

Almost two weeks ago Anders and I flew to Switzerland. We had a layover in Doha, Qatar. We landed at 4:45 AM local time. We were faced with a 4 1/2 hour layover. I wasn’t particularly tired because it was 10:45 AM China time. As I was sitting in the airport I was struck by how diverse the passengers were that were walking through. I started to write down everything that I saw to pass the time. The more I saw, the more I wrote, and the more obvious it became that I had to share what I saw. I’m amazed at how extensive the list is. I was going to try to do something witty with it but there is so much to sift through, I’m still a tad jet-lagged, and I have a Chinese homework assignment due tomorrow that I should have done before I left but was too busy and now I don’t know how I’ll ever do a decent job, so I’m just gonna lay it out there as it was written. OK, I will try to spell things correctly but I can’t even promise that will be done.

  • Indian nuns and Indian Catholic priests, Sikhs, Muslims, Orthodox Catholics, Buddhists,  and probably atheists but they’re not so obvious
  • Chinese men wearing cowboy hats
  • Sheiks
  • Robes on men, robes on women, robes on children
  • A man wearing a T-shirt that read “Pennsylvania Migratory Birds”, I actually have written “Pennsylvania Migrant Birds” but that can’t possibly be correct!
  • Very large American man wearing flowered board shorts
  • Corn rows, dreadlocks, bald heads, afros, a 50-ish woman with dyed black hair but her crown was candy-apple red (my P&G haircare husband was impressed)
  • Kids crying, kids running, kids being dragged, and parents losing their patience 🙂
  • Babies in strollers, babies being carried, babies in back-packs and front slings
  • Every hair, eye, and skin color on the planet
  • Burqas, saris
  • Grannies and granddads, couples, families, and singles
  • People rushing, some looking lost and bewildered, and others sleeping (on benches, not on their feet)
  • Asians, Africans, Middle-Easterners, Indians, Europeans, I’m sure Aussies and Kiwis, Americans (sneakers and flip-flops are a dead giveaway!), and I wouldn’t be surprised if a scientist from Antarctica was making his way back home. I’m certain that every continent was represented.
  • Baseball caps – flaps front, flaps back, and flaps Chav-aliciously sideways 🙂
  • Skull caps, fedoras, hoodies, turbans (so many styles), visors, Rasta caps and a pink beach hat that was about 3 feet in diameter!
  • Chinese tour groups – the only obvious tour groups which was surprising, the fact that they were the only tour group not that Chinese travel in tours
  • Sunglasses on the face, the head, hanging from pockets, and collars
  • Boarding passes in hands, front pockets, back pockets, and hanging out of backpacks, carry-ons, and purses (shouldn’t they be more careful?)
  • THE BAGS OF DUTY FREE MERCHANDISE, because unlike the GZ airport at 11:00 PM in which most of the lights were turned off everything in this airport was open at 5AM
  • Chinese women doing their “walking thing” of swinging their arms, stretching hands, twisting their wrists, patting arms and legs. They did NOT walk backwards but I’m sure that if it hadn’t been so crowded they would have
  • The most beautiful collection of scarves! I was so inspired that I bought 2 in France. I do love scarves, right SG?
  • MC Hammer pants seem to be popular with western women. I’m guessing they saw Eat, Pray, Love and were inspired
  • coffee cups, water bottles, baby bottles, liquor bottles in those duty-free bags, Coke cups
  • A bald man who had the back of his head tattooed. OUCH!
  • A woman wearing a burqa carrying a Louis Vuitton bag
  • Clark Kent/Superman is German and went to Columbia Business School
  • iPods, iPads, iPhones, laptops, Kindles and other eBooks, Nintendo DS – Steve Jobs must be smiling from wherever he is!
  • WHITE PANTS GUY as I lovingly tagged him. A westerner with the hair ridge greased up going down the middle of his head (not a mohawk but you know what I’m talking about), suspenders, and the TIGHTEST, WHITEST, THINNEST pants I’ve ever seen a man wear outside of a ballet! He had something else on underneath but I need to keep this clean, kids might be reading. 😉
  • and me, 5 pounds lighter in weight than I am currently 😦 but every glass of wine and beer, breakfast croissant and pain au chocolat was worth it 😉

Yeah, it was quite entertaining and the best people-watching EVER!

8PM – 87°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

Leave a Reply

