Blue skies!!!!!!!

Standard

Who says that Guangzhou doesn’t have blue skies? Anders for one. He told everyone (I may be exaggerating a bit when I say everyone) last week in Switzerland and France that GZ is polluted and we rarely see blue sky. Well compared to other places it may not be as frequent an occurrence but you gotta take what you can get. I defended GZ and told people that compared to Beijing we have it pretty good and we do indeed have days of puffy white clouds and bright sunshine. And to prove my point our first day back was beautiful. I think the clouds cleared out  to mock Anders and to remind him that GZ also can be pretty! The proof is in the photos. I LOVE MY VIEW! 🙂

Now by contrast, Ben and I got stuck driving home today in a downpour of biblical proportions. Actually I was in the grocery store when it started. He was waiting at the exit with an umbrella for me and we foolishly made a dash for the car with my bags. We were soaked, not sure why we even bothered with umbrellas! We looked like we had taken showers with our clothes on. The good thing is we laughed about it and I got a few stories about people driving, the river, and all kinds of tidbits about torrential downpours in GZ. I have never experienced anything quite like it and even GZ drivers were pulling off the to the side of the road. Not Ben. Oh no. We plowed through the puddles and lakes and ponds and storm drain overflows and rivers! This will make for good dragon boat races this weekend!

6:30PM – 80°

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

Leave a Reply

