Mandarin progress

Standard

I had a bit of a breakthrough today in my Chinese class. When I started lessons a year ago I took notes, feverishly too I might add. When I started the second level my teacher started writing things down. It saved time and she didn’t write as many things as I did. I have noticed in the last few classes that the writing has been less and less. Today? Nothing was written! I still have to think about every word that comes out of my mouth and sometimes my head hurts (I can only imagine how E’s head must feel having to listen to me) but I’m pleased that I’ve progressed to the point that nothing is written. As a visual learner that makes me panic a bit but it’s the Berlitz way. Hmmm…it only took me a year to reach that point. Now that I think about it perhaps it’s not something I should be bragging about. 😉

On the down side, in my Mandarin class today my teacher told me that some of my characters look like a 3-year-old wrote them. We had quite a laugh about that. It’s true. Learning to write in Chinese transported me to another minefield. If I make a stroke wrong it looks like a completely different word. I now walk in 2 minefields: spoken language minefield and written language minefield. I get blown up on a regular basis. 😦

I’m so glad that E was able to tease me about it. Our relationship has come a long way and I adore her. We laugh a lot and I love that I can make her laugh in Chinese. I don’t just mean with my mistakes either (although that provides plenty of unintentional entertainment). I get her to laugh by saying something funny. She understands me. She actually squeezed my shoulders today. I know that seems trivial but this is a nation of non-huggers. 🙂

9PM – 82°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

2 responses »

  1. Karen, I admire your perseverance. It’s so difficult learning another language, especially when the alphabet and writing is so different. You are the bomb!

Leave a Reply

