I passed!

Standard

As promised some more sample questions from the driver’s manual are below with more to come. The good news is that I passed my test and no longer need the manual.  I’m so happy and more than a little relieved. Now I can legally drive and rent a car in the US. I can’t wait to see the look on the face of the rental car agent when I plunk my Chinese license down on the counter the first time.

Ben claims that it takes most Chinese 3 or 4 tries to pass the test but I think he was just being nice. 😉 The girl at the computer next to me though? I think it may take her ten times with her strategy. I have no idea what she was doing. She was clicking her mouse four times to every one of mine. There is no way she was able to read that fast. I think she was simply hoping that she was guessing correctly.

 

Question: When encountering a flock of sheep crossing a road, the driver should _______. 

A. Honk continuously to drive away the flock

B. Speed up and bypass the flock

C. Drive slowly and use the vehicle to scare away the flock

D. Reduce speed and go slowly, or stop to yield when necessary

Answer: D   (I would think that the same is true for any flock, herd, or gathering of animals. I’m nut sure why sheep are singled out.)

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

Question: When discovering animals cutting in on the road, the driver should _______.  

A. Voluntarily reduce speed or stop to yield

B. Honk to drive them away

C. Speed up and bypass

D. Reduce speed and use the vehicle to drive away them

Answer: A    (Even animals cut in!)

 

Question: When encountering somebody herding animals on the road, the driver should _____.

A. Honk to indicate him to yield

B. Properly reduce speed and keep a large safe distance

C. Swiftly bypass

D. Follow closely

Answer: B

 

Question: When animals abruptly cross a road, the driver should evade if it is safe for the passengers and goods in the vehicle.

Answer: Right  (Interesting that the safety of passengers and goods are equally important. Hmmm.)

 

Question: When animals cross a road and impede the traffic, the driver may continuously honk to drive them away.

Answer: Wrong

 

Question: When a vehicle encounters an animal-drawn cart on the road, the driver should _______.

A. Suddenly speed up and bypass

B. Honk when approaching

C. Honk in distance and reduce speed in advance

D. Follow closely

Answer: C

 

China is a paradox and makes for a very interesting life.

3:30 PM – 90°

About vikarenously

I am an ex-pat living in Guangzhou, China. I am married to the man of my dreams who has indulged my love of travel by working hard enough to snag two international assignments. Oh yes, I also have two amazing children who accompanied us on our first one to Switzerland and are now mature and responsible adults which makes it so easy for us to experience this adventure as empty-nesters. Experience it vicariously with Karen.

Leave a Reply

